Announcements

Views
Helpful
Replies
DCSmart
Beginner

Integrating ASA in the network

Hello,

We are planning to implement a second LAN using a Netgear wi-fi router; Our current LAN is using a Netgear Nighthawk as the primary router which is directly connected to the ISP router and to a Cisco switch to provide DHCP service, wi-fi, and Ethernet connectivity, but for the second LAN we want to have ASA in front of the second router, so the layout would look like this: ISP –- Nighthawk Router –- ASA –- Second Router. At this point, I’m wondering how reliable it would be to have two consumer-grade routers in our network and if the current network layout is going to serve the purpose.

Overall Purpose is to integrate ASA in the network and get rid of the First LAN ( using WiFI router ) altogether. We will have ASA do the DHCP and VPN service.

I’m familiar with Cisco routers and switches but I’m relatively new to ASA. As per the running configs, our ASA box mgmt interface has been configured to be accessed remotely through SSH.

I’ve assigned the interfaces in ASA as follows: G0/0 “Outside” to primary Netgear router and G0/1 “inside” to second Netgear router.

I’ve also configured static routing and opened ports 80/443 and I’m not getting any internet connectivity on the second router neither I can ping internet from ASA.

My guess is that I’m missing some NAT configuration as I’ve already gone through the ACL’s and ICMP is allowed. Any other ideas? Please let me know if something is unclear or more info need is needed.

Attached is the diagram for the intended network design.

2 REPLIES 2
John-Finnegan
Beginner

Would you be able to share some of the ASA config?

I am assuming the ASA is doing DHCP for the Outside interface so that the Router can provide it an IP address is that accurate?

How is the Second Router getting its IPs? Is it through DHCP on the internal interface of the ASA or are these statically assigned?