Views
Helpful
Replies

ios based ips configuration issue: no traffic passed

fabios
Level 1
Level 1

Hello everybody,

I am kind of new to IPS on IOS. I have read a lot and learned a few thing but I am running in some issues, before opening a case with TAC I want to make sure I am not overlooking some very important bit that prevents IOS from working on my setup.

I have a router configured for IRB (integrated routing and bridgin) with FastEthernet 0/0/0 and GigabitEtherner 0/1.4 in bridge-group 1 bridging traffic directed to the 2 web server to protect. Internet connectivity is provided by TELCO CPE equipment (connected on Gi0/1.4) that NATs public ip address into a private one of the server. Traffic is then bridged from Gi0/1.4 to Fa0/0/0 and sent to the server.

Without IPS the server are accessible from the Internet.

I loaded the SDF file and set everything up. As soon as I issue the ip ips FW-ips out command under interface fa0/0/0 (FW-ips is the ips name) the server become inaccessible from the Internet. Same if I issue the ip ips FW-ips in command under interface Gi0/1.4

the several debug ip ips command failed to return any output.

I am kind of stuck.

Any help apreciated. Signature and ips config below.

Thank you

Fabio

ip ips config location flash:ips retries 1

ip ips name FW-ips

!

ip ips signature-category

category all

retired true

category ios_ips advanced

retired false

enabled true

event-action reset-tcp-connection deny-attacker-inline produce-alert

!

2 Replies 2

raga.fusionet
Level 4
Level 4

Fabios,

Most likely your server is generating false positives on normal traffic, since you have the following event actions "deny-attacker-inline" and "reset-tcp" the "attacker" in this case your server will be denied.