Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

NAT one-to-one PIX515e

Hi Guys,

I'm new in Firewall environment and I'm trying to make me an experience.

Basically, I have a cisco 887 router where I have connected a PIX 515e firewall. Behind that I have a server. My cisco router does NAT 192.168.0.0/24 and my PIX's eth0 interface (outside) has 192.168.0.3. On eht1 PIX interface (inside) I have 172.16.0.1 where I have a server with IP 172.16.0.3. Below the diagram:

SERVER --------------------PIX-------------------CISCO

172.16.0.3 ----172.16.0.1/192.168.0.3----192.168.0.1               

Basically, I would that ALL requests from devices in 192.168.0.0/24 subnet to 192.168.0.3 (eth0 PIX interface) are redirect to my server 172.16.0.3 (NATone-to-one)

I thought that the conf was similar to cisco router but it isn't

Any suggestion?

Thanks!

4 Replies 4

Puneesh Chhabra
Cisco Employee
Cisco Employee

You can do that, however it is not a good practice.

It is suggested to do Port address translation on the interface of the firewall.

For eg:

Static PAT Example:

In order to redirect Telnet traffic from the outside interface (10.1.2.14) to the inside host at 10.1.1.15, enter this command:

hostname(config)#static (inside, outside) tcp 10.1.2.14 telnet 10.1.1.15 telnet netmask 255.255.255.255

Similarly, you can use any port instead of telnet in the above example.

The static PAT command is the same as static NAT, except it allows for the specification of the Transmission Control Protocol (TCP) or the User Datagram Protocol (UDP) and the port for the real and mapped addresses.

The static PAT feature can identify the same mapped address across many different static statements, so long as the port is different for each statement.

Regards,

Puneesh

If you find the answer helpful, please mark it as correct so others can benefit from the discussion.

Hi Puneesh.

Thank you very much for your reply.