Helpful
Replies

Newbie question on sharing folder unsing Gre tunneling

ireofunes
Level 1
Level 1

Hi everybody,

I just make a VPN site-to-site (two cisco series 800) using GRE Tunneling

The first network A is 192.168.1.0/24 with windows 2003 domain server, and second network B is 192.168.34.0/24 with only client connected to internet and throught vpn site-to-site to network A.

Now in network A i have also an as400 and i can use it without problem in network B, also i can ping in network B windows 2003 server, but of course i can not use share folder on windows 2003.

They are unfindable. On network B i use also as DNS server Windows 2003 server on network A and it works perfect, but when i try to do \\namewin2003\sharefoldername it says me that is unfindable. So i activate Wins server on Windows 2003 and on client of network B but nothing.

Please I now I'm a newbie, but good advice could help me

thanks a lot!

ireo

7 Replies 7

Richard Burts
Hall of Fame
Hall of Fame

Ireo

I believe the issue is that you are trying to use Windows functions between subnets. The devices in network B are using broadcasts to try to find the server, but the broadcasts are not forwarded between subnets. The way to fix this is to configure on the interface for network B this command:

ip helper-address

This will do forwarding of the Windows broadcasts and should allow the devices in network B to use the server in network A.

HTH

Rick

HTH

Rick

Thanks a lot Rick, for your fast reply, tomorrow it will be the first thing i'll try do! :)

Anyway i have other problem i would like to explain to you, if you can and have time to give me some advice :)

The network A have a different gw instead of router A it has a linux firewall box. Network B instead has rotuer B as gw.

I put a route table on linux gw (route add -net 192.168.34.0 netmask 255.255.255.0 gw 192.168.1.72) where gw is the router A.