Views
Helpful
Replies

Problem with Secondary Cisco ASA 5525X SFR and Firesight

gtsesmelis
Level 1
Level 1

Hi team,

we have two ASA 5525X in failover mode with SFR installed on them and Firesight in a Linux VM which the two SFRs are registered. We use to have the secondary ASA off cause if the primary fails we have to Turn on the secondary and switch manually the wan cable. I turn on the secondary ASA every end of the week in order to take the configuration from the primary for both ASA and SFR and close it again by power button.

Last week i turn on the Secondary ASA and the Firesight couldn't see the secondary SFR and show the below message:

Module Appliance Heartbeat: Appliance <<IP ADDRESS>> is not sending heartbeats.

(I should mention that i can ping the IP ADDRESS)

I tried to investigate the problem with no success.

I also deleted the sensor from Firesight Device Management just in case something is stuck, and I try to re added with no success.

I'm new in Firepower so.........any ideas?

Thanks

1 Accepted Solution

Accepted Solutions

Finally, this problem was solved by re-imaging the Firepower :

see detailled procedure here to perform this re-imaging ;

http://www.cisco.com/c/en/us/support/docs/security/asa-firepower-services/118644-configure-firepower-00.html

Before doing so, it appeared that this Firepower was not very healthy :

after a successful "'configure manager add xxxxx" command, 

the show managers command show nothing ;

it should have shown  this result :

> show managers
Host                      : 193.193.2.75
Registration Key          : AZERTY
Registration              : pending
RPC Status                :

besides, in expert mode, the following command shows several down processes (instead of none in normal state) :

sudo pmtool status | grep -i down

Last point,

after reimaging and reconfiguring everything, this Firepower, installed in the Secondary standby ASA, was seen as OK under Firesight health Monitor,