Views
Helpful
Replies

Understanding 5505 firewall-site to site and internet traffic

dknudson007
Level 1
Level 1

Hi,

My question is mutli-faceted. I apologize for the lengthy intro here but i think the info is necessary to understand where I am headed in this.

I am new to the cisco 5505. I have had very limited exposure to a 5510 that was preset. I have managed to make modifications to it here and there, but dont completely understand how it was put together. I learn by watching, listening, and gleaning what I can from others. I have had no formal training in CLI, but I have learned some of the commands. I know enough to be dangerous, but I respect my limitations.

That being said, I have been charged with setting up a 5505 at a remote site. I need to accomplish several things.  Our ultimate goal is to use this device as a site to site with the 5510 at the corporate office. However, I need to accomplish this in baby steps, test, test real users and then maybe convert in full. Where I could outsource this in its entirety, that would preclude me from learning so I can address this in the future on my own.

We need to have this in place by the end of February 2013.

Currently the remote site is connected via a very slow (by todays standards) T1 line on a MPLS. Stable. Works, but slow. All internet traffic as well as work traffic is routed through that connection. We have added a 50mb cable connection (with static ips) to the office. First we want to set up the 5505 so that it can be used as follows:

1, Internet traffic can be routed out through this device and all other "work" traffic routed through the MPLS.

2, Test using this connection as a route out to the internet AND use it as a site to site VPN connection to the home office. (or anyconnect vpn)

I need to be able to have users in both environments. IE, some still using step 1 and some starting to use and test step 2.