Did you mean: 
cancel
Views
Helpful
Comments
ciscomoderator
Community Manager
Community Manager

While working as a chemistry lab technician, Alain Cadet earned CCNA and CCNP certifications and passed the written portion of the CCIE exam. “I love challenges, and hearing about other people’s challenges helps me keep learning,” he says.

BACKGROUND

Q. How did you develop an interest in networking?

A. I’ve been a chemistry lab technician since the late ‘80s. In 2000, I bought a computer and discovered I enjoyed learning about networking. I began playing hacker challenge games involving cryptography and networking. I’m a curious guy.

Q. How did you earn your networking certifications?

A. In 2006, I started studying on my own for a CCNA. I failed the exam the first time, and when my child was born I put studying on hold. Years later, I happened to see a newspaper article about a nearby Cisco Networking Academy. My work schedule gave me the flexibility to take classes twice a week, and I passed the CCNA exam for Routing and Switching. Next, I passed the CCNP and CCNA Security exams.  I later studied on my own to pass the CCNA Voice exam. Most recently I passed the CCIE Routing and Switching written exam, and I’m currently studying for the lab.

Q. Do you have a home lab?

A. I have two Cisco Unified IP Phone 7960Gs, Catalyst 3750 and 2950 Switches, and some old computers I use as servers. I use GNS3 (Graphical Network Simulator) to study for routing exams. I’m adding four Catalyst 3550 Switches to study for the CCIE Routing and Switching lab exam.

CHALLENGE

Q. How did you find out about Cisco Support Community?

A. Soon after passing the CCNP exam, I discovered the community when I did a Google search. I looked around and started answering questions. It’s become addictive.

Q. How do you participate?