cancel
Views
Helpful
Comments
ciscomoderator
Community Manager
Community Manager

Leo Laohoo

A network engineer for the government of Canberra, Australia, specializes in wireless technology. He enjoys participating in the Cisco Support Community because it’s a “two-way street.” He explains, “If I can help someone else, I’m happy. I also learn from other people’s answers and their responses to my answers.”

BACKGROUND

Q. How did you get involved in the networking industry?

A. My first job was with a global WAN provider. I learned networking skills on the job, and in 2005 passed the CCNA exam. Now I work with the city of Canberra, the capital of Australia. My biggest interest is wireless, and most of my knowledge came from the Cisco Support Community.

Q. What do you do with the city of Canberra?

A. I’m a network engineer. It’s my responsibility to manage the wired and wireless networks for our 118 education sites, all linked by dark fiber.

Q. What do you regard as your greatest accomplishment to date related to networking?

A. By March 2011, we’ll have finished implementing more than 1200 wireless access points in the public schools with 802.11n enabled. We’ve already begun using the school project as a template for implementing 802.11n with Cisco CleanAir technology in other buildings. 

CHALLENGE

Q. What led you to the Cisco Support Community?

A. I discovered the Cisco Support Community when I did a search for some configuration information. I happened to see a question and thought, “I know the answer!” That person rated my answer, and I decided that participating would be interesting and enjoyable. I’m happy that my work colleagues are supportive of my participation.

Q. How often do you generally visit the Cisco Support Community?