Views
Helpful
Replies

Subscriber pushes //private// keypaths through regex filter

u.avsec
Spotlight
Spotlight

Hey,

I have a subscriber sitting in a non service PACKAGE that is monitoring ANOTHER_PACKAGE which is a service package with a top list of devices, where their names are the key. Subscriber is registered on /ANOTHER_PACKAGE/devices

I don't want to act on everything that is going on in ANOTHER_PACKAGE; only if device is deleted, or if a particular enum node (/ANOTHER_PACKAGE/devices{rtr}/onboarding/external-systems/rfs-nso-systems) under each device is changed. So I set up a regex filter to catch what I want to act upon. It looks something like this:

def iterate(self, keypath, operation, oldval, newval, state):
    """Filter subscription."""
    keypath = str(keypath)
    self.log.info(keypath)
    if match('/ANOTHER_PACKAGE/devices{.*}/onboarding/external-systems/rfs-nso-systems$', keypath) and operation == ncs.MOP_VALUE_SET:
        state.append([operation, keypath])
        return ncs.ITER_RECURSE
    if match('/ANOTHER_PACKAGE/devices{.*}$', keypath) and operation == ncs.MOP_DELETED:
        return ncs.ITER_RECURSE
    state = []
    return ncs.ITER_RECURSE

When I run it though, NSO does something which I understand where it is coming from and why but not how it passes the regexes. Following is a self.log.info print of a state attribute in post_iterate:

[[4, '/ANOTHER_PACKAGE/devices{rtr}/onboarding/external-systems/rfs-nso-systems'], 
[2, '/ANOTHER_PACKAGE/devices{rtr}/onboarding/external-systems/rfs-nso{rfs-58}'], 
[2, '/ANOTHER_PACKAGE/devices{rtr}/private/device-list{rfs-58}'], 
[2, '/ANOTHER_PACKAGE/devices{rtr}/private/ned-id-list{cisco-nso-nc-5.8:cisco-nso-nc-5.8}'], 
[4, '/ANOTHER_PACKAGE/devices{sw}/onboarding/external-systems/rfs-nso-systems'], 
[2, '/ANOTHER_PACKAGE/devices{sw}/private/device-list{rfs-58}'],
[2, '/ANOTHER_PACKAGE/devices{sw}/private/ned-id-list{cisco-nso-nc-5.8:cisco-nso-nc-5.8}']]