cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

New Expressway Deployment Questions with Jabber 12.X

josjackson
Level 1
Level 1

Hello Everyone.  Im a little new to the whole Cisco Expressway deployments.  Have some general questions if anyone wants to chime in.

In my environment we are replacing CIPC with Jabber Multiline.  We have the new Jabber 12.X and the cop file installed.  Creating the devices is no issue.  Our cluster is not DNS enabled.  We are in the process of updating all of that but will need to also generate new certificates since we use a third party call recording application.

What I found is that we can get Jabber to register and detect services on the internal network.  On the clients network it almost seems like Jabber does detect the services but when prompted for username password it fails.  We have some DNS entries to create from the looks of it however we also need DNS enabled on our cluster.  Jabber can detect the UDS part only.

We are deploying some Expressways however Im not sure if we need a core and an edge.  Can you deploy just a core expressway? Jabber is only going to be used from customer issued machines.  The will of course connect from onsite LAN connection back to our datacenter or a VPN Tunnel if they are working from home.  Its going to be Jabber but in a phone only mode.  Sole direction is to replace CIPC with Jabber (now that it supports dual lines)

Any thoughts on best direction?

1. Do we need expressways (C and E) or maybe just C in a Jabber phone only mode config? No accessing Jabber from the internet.  Just existing FW rules from the clients network back to our hosted DC environment.

2. Should step 1 start with new certificates that include a FQDN on the cluster

3. Step 2 enabling DNS on cluster?

4. Can Jabber work without an expressway for phone only mode?

I keep seeing mixed recommendations. End scenario will look like this

Inbound Calls--- Third party IVR>>>Third Party Call Routing>>>Cisco TDM GW>>>CUCM>>>Jabber Phone