Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

SRST Query

Hi,

I'm new to IPT and am trying to get my head around a few things.

An SRST router is usually used to provide fail over for remote sites during WAN failure etc, however can it still be used effectively in a head office scenario?

Ie. if the voice router is configured with SRST, and the CM fails, am I right in thinking that the phones will fail over to the SRST device which is also the voice interface? And is there a loss of functionality such as Call Pickup, hunting groups etc.

Thanks.

1 Accepted Solution

Accepted Solutions

Rajesh Revuru
Level 4
Level 4

Yes, you can certainly use the headoffice gateway as SRST. But also depends upon which gateway protocol you are using. Are you currently using H323 or MGCP?

I am not 100% sure about the features like Call Pickup and hunting groups. However you can certainly implement that in SRST mode

View solution in original post

5 Replies 5

Rajesh Revuru
Level 4
Level 4

Yes, you can certainly use the headoffice gateway as SRST. But also depends upon which gateway protocol you are using. Are you currently using H323 or MGCP?

I am not 100% sure about the features like Call Pickup and hunting groups. However you can certainly implement that in SRST mode

Hi,

Thanks for your reply. MGCP is currently in use. I believe that when using CM with SRST you do lose Pickup Groups, hunting etc.

Thanks for your clarification.

If you are looking at pickup groups and huntgroups in a fail-over scenario then it may be of interest for you to look into CME SRST.

What you need to understand is the additional amount of ownership when is comes to administering CME SRST.

For example if you create a huntgroup within CallManager and you add an additional member, you would also need to ensure that you configure your CME SRST gateway to reflect same in the event of failure.