cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

OSPF design choice: stub or totally stubby?

Kevin Dorrell
Level 10
Level 10

I am studying the behaviour of the various types of OSPF area. I am happy with the difference between a stub area and a totally stubby area, but to recap .... In a stub area, the ABR does not pass any E1/E2 routes into the area, but gives it a default route instead; however, it still gives it the IA routes. In a totally stubby area, the ABR does not even pass it the IA routes, but relies on the injected default route instead.

My question is this: in a practical design, when would you choose to have a stub rather than a totally stubby? I can see that if there is only one ABR, then there is no point in giving the area all the IA routes; the default route is sufficient, so the appropriate choice is totally-stubby. If there is more than one ABR, then different subnets could be reached more efficiently via different ABRs; the IA route information is useful, so stub would be the appropriate choice. Is it as simple as that: 1 ABR -> configure as stub, more than 1 ABR -> configure as TS (no-summary)? Or are there other criteria that influence the choice?

There is another behaviour, of NSSA, that took me by surprise, but I shall post that question separately.

Kevin Dorrell

Luxembourg

1 Accepted Solution

Accepted Solutions

Harold Ritter
Cisco Employee
Cisco Employee

This is a difficult question to answer since there is no right or wrong andswer to it. It really depends on what you are trying to achieve. If the goal is to reduce the size of the LSDB and RIB on branch routers with very little memory then totally-stubby might be a better option whether you have one or many ABRs.