Views
Helpful
Replies

Question regarding this design

Noble
Level 1
Level 1

Hello,

I am no expert so my apologies if this question comes across as silly.  Please see the attached topology, it is a centralized model in which "Remote site A" and "Remote site B" connect to "HQ" via L2 extensions, and then connect to one another through HQ.  My question is, in this topology is it in any way possible for traffic from Remote A to Remote B (or vice versa) to traverse the firewall for inspection before forwarding off?  The way I see it, the router sits at the perimeter, terminates the connections to both sites and is essentially directly connected, therefore it would make the decision to forward the traffic directly.

Hopefully this makes sense.

Thanks,

4 Replies 4

Hello

@Noble wrote:

Hello,

My question is, in this topology is it in any way possible for traffic from Remote A to Remote B (or vice versa) to traverse the firewall for inspection before forwarding off?  The way I see it, the router sits at the perimeter, terminates the connections to both sites and is essentially directly connected, therefore it would make the decision to forward the traffic directly.

You can have the Fw perform the routing for the two sites  As such each sites nexthop would be the FW then from the Fw you can apply you filters/rules criteria etc...

Please rate and mark as an accepted solution if you have found any of the information provided useful.
This then could assist others on these forums to find a valuable answer and broadens the community’s global network.

Kind Regards
Paul

Hi Paul,