cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

switch question: Intel NIC load balancing software

root9
Level 1
Level 1

I am using Intel NICs that have the software than enables redundancy and/or load balancing of 2 NICs. So the 2 physical NICs create 1 logical NIC that has the TCP/IP config attatched to it.

This raises all kinds of layer2 questions in my head since there are really two nics with 2 different mac addresses.

Since there are physically 2 cables then from the server to the switch do I need to do anything on the switch end? trunking? (may be wrong term.. I'm new to the more advanced switch configs) something that makes the 2 switch ports act as 1 since the 2 nics are acting as 1?

any help is appreciated. Thanks.

5 Replies 5

sachin
Level 1
Level 1

There will not be any Layer 2 issue i.e. STP loops, intel software will make ONE virtual (logical)adapter of MAC address (any of TWO participating NICs) .

and outside world will be seeing this MAC address i.e. your IP address will always be bind to this virtual MAC address.

To clear your doubt--

Suppose you have two NICs "A" and "B", connected to switchA and switchB.

Now suppose the Vritual MAC address is "A".

In normal condition----

SwtichA mac table will contain --- A

SwitchB mac table will contain --- B

Now if your NIC "A" has gone down ,

SwtichA mac table will contain --- nothing

SwitchB mac table will contain --- A ( here immediately it will remove your old entry ,)

So for outside world that IP address is still reachable.

hope this clears your doubt,

Thanks. Getting much clearer. Most importanly you've verified its NOT a problem so I can rule that out while troubleshooting some network slowdowns I'm experiencing. thank you.