Views
Helpful
Replies

802.1x VLAN assignment

CiscoDOJones
Level 1
Level 1

Hello,

Apologies if this is in the wrong location.    I work in the public sector and so our user base is pretty big.   Currently we use locally significant VLANs per switch cabinet with port-channel uplinks to the Distribution layer.   We are thinking about implementing 802.1x with dynamic VLAN assignment with Microsoft NPS Radius server.   This seems fairly straight forward for the most part and what I have read.

For those in the know, is dynamic VLAN assignment based on differing AD groups as such we will need to limit our 1,000s of staff in to smaller manageable AD groups up to 250 people (on a slash 24 subnet) ??

Given the mobility era, most people now have Laptops and office moves occur often and sometimes we are unaware they occur.  

Is it possible to just query the machine based authentication and somehow magically assign the relevant vlan for that locally significant switch.      The only other idea I had would be to have multiple Radius servers, in order to assign the specific VLANs to the relevant switches.....this would not be practical  :(

suggestions, ideas, knowledge, solutions....thanks in advance

:)   Dave

4 Replies 4

Seb Rupik
VIP Alumni
VIP Alumni

Hi there,

If all your users belong to the same security group and can therefore be placed in any subnet providing it has consistent access, then don’t worry about VLAN assignment. Just use 802.1x to authenticate the user, if you don’t try pushing a VLAN ID to the switchport the switch will just use whatever is currently configured as the access VLAN, in your case one which is locally significant.

Cheers,

Seb.

Hi Seb,