Views
Helpful
Replies

Announce OSPF inside IPSec

SubaruSama
Level 1
Level 1

Hello everyone, how are you going?

I need some guidening and mentoring. Cisco beginner here. The class has changed professor, the old one was using the CORE Emulator. Now we are using the Eve-NG. I am kinda liking the Cisco world because there is material and tutorial online and is fun too. With CORE Emulator was more hardcore, but it was fun too.

I'am doing a class that we need to do the following under this context:

We have four offices, one office is the Main office and the three others are Branch Offices. And in between we have the ISP.

I'am configuring the ISP to use the RIP v2 for simplicity. For the offices we will use OSPF and OSPFv3.

But, the ISP don't need to/don't have to know our OSPF routes. The Main Office is the Backbone Area 0, and the other three offices are Area 10, 20 and 30.

So I was planning to announce the OSPF routes inside IPSec. But i am struggling so hard to understand and implement.

So, how I implement to make the OSPF announce inside IPSec Tunnels? Do I have to create a Tunnel Interface and do what? I've created some labs to try to implement, but in terms of theory, I am not understanding.

Thanks in advance!

1 Accepted Solution

Accepted Solutions

Richard Burts
Hall of Fame
Hall of Fame

There are several things I would like to comment on for this post:

- if the objective is to send OSPF advertisements from HQ to Branch Office without the ISP being aware of the OSPF routing then the simple solution would be to configure a GRE tunnel from HQ to each branch. There is not any need of IPSEC for this.