Views
Helpful
Replies

Announce OSPF inside IPSec

SubaruSama
Level 1
Level 1

Hello everyone, how are you going?

I need some guidening and mentoring. Cisco beginner here. The class has changed professor, the old one was using the CORE Emulator. Now we are using the Eve-NG. I am kinda liking the Cisco world because there is material and tutorial online and is fun too. With CORE Emulator was more hardcore, but it was fun too.

I'am doing a class that we need to do the following under this context:

We have four offices, one office is the Main office and the three others are Branch Offices. And in between we have the ISP.

I'am configuring the ISP to use the RIP v2 for simplicity. For the offices we will use OSPF and OSPFv3.

But, the ISP don't need to/don't have to know our OSPF routes. The Main Office is the Backbone Area 0, and the other three offices are Area 10, 20 and 30.

So I was planning to announce the OSPF routes inside IPSec. But i am struggling so hard to understand and implement.

So, how I implement to make the OSPF announce inside IPSec Tunnels? Do I have to create a Tunnel Interface and do what? I've created some labs to try to implement, but in terms of theory, I am not understanding.

Thanks in advance!

20 Replies 20

Thank you for posting the diagram and the router configurations. I suspect that we may have multiple issues to deal with. I will start with 2 and after they are resolved we will see what else we need to address.

First I have an architectural concern. When you described 4 sites running OSPF I expected to see 4 non backbone areas (one area per site) with an area 0 backbone in the middle. What we have here appears to be area 0 backbone at one site and 3 non backbone areas. You could make this work, but it will be a bit more complex. I wonder if there was a particular reason to set it up this way?