cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

Can a 1711 router be updated to IOS 15?

ciscoscottc
Level 1
Level 1

This is my first time posting, if I've posted this to the wrong area please advise me where this should be posted thank you.

I got a Cisco 1711 to learn IOS and work on getting a CCNA.  This is a very old router.  While going through a tutorial it got the part on port security and when it got to the switchport command, that one seems to be missing.

If I go into conf t, then interface fastEthernet 0, I hit s? the options I get are:

routername(config)#interface fastEthernet 0
routername(config-if)#s?
service-policy shutdown snapshot snmp
speed standby

show ip interface brief reports:

FastEthernet0              192.168.1.5     YES NVRAM  up                    up

It looks like this command is missing.  I am running IOS 12.4 and have noticed some other commands (can't recall them) that didn't work like in the tutorial I am watching.

Can I upgrade this router to IOS 15?  If not, can someone tell me the newest version of IOS I can upgrade it to, or a resource that will show me what version it can be upgraded to ?  Thanks.

5 Replies 5

Borgenstrand
Level 1
Level 1

Hi,

as far as I can see on:

http://tools.cisco.com/ITDIT/CFN/jsp/by-feature-technology.jsp

which is Cisco Feature Navigator, I cannot see that Cisco 1711 can use IOS 15. I have seen before that some routers do not have the speed command. It could just be that the fastethernet port is 100Mbit/s as standard.

In regard of the the speed command, can you try the same underneath a serial interface?

I think the newest IOS for Cisco 1711 is 12.4T.

Speed command?  This is about the switchport command for port security.

Oh sorry, I should have reread that :)

Depending on what router it is, some cannot handle Switch commands because it does not have a switch-module in the router.