cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

Catalyst 4006 - Failover recovery procedure.

djkim
Level 1
Level 1

Hi, I am new to Cisco Switches, I'd really appreciate anyone's advice for redundancy procedure for Catalyst 4006.

I have 2 Catalyst 4006, ws-x4013 (supervisor II) with ws-x4448-gb-rj45 and ws-x4013 with ws-x4148-rj, linking two floors via Fiber cable.

Basically Supervisor II Engine and 1 GB module is on Level 3, which links to all the file servers and 1 Supervisor II + 4 Ethernet switching modules is on Level 1, which links to all the pcs. There is no VLAN configured and pretty much default settings taken. Here are my questions:

1) If SE II on L3 is broken, Can SE II on L1 be replaced with SE II on L3? What steps are reqiured if it can.

2) If GB module on L3, where all the server are attached, is broken, can it be swapped with one of Ethernet Modules from L1? What steps are required, such as restoration of config etc.

3) If Fiber cable is broken that links between two switches, can ethernet cable be used to connect between switch modules?

What other options are avilable if this can't be achived.

Many thanks in advance. DJ

4 Replies 4

v-nguyen
Level 1
Level 1

As far as I know:

1) Should not be any problem at all by swapping/replacing the SupII engine. You must however be aware that the config is saved on the SupII so once you've swapped, make sure that you'l put the appropriate config on (eg take out the GB configs if the GB module is not there). This can potentially take quite a long time to do so it might be better to have a high response maintenance contract.

2) Again should not be a problem and again be aware that the config is saved on the SupII module. So edit the appropriate settings.

3) No problem in using copper should fibre be cut. Try EtherChannel the copper. On 4006, you can EtherChannel up to 8 x copper interface.