Views
Helpful
Replies

Design/Architect Career Advice

fabrice75
Level 1
Level 1

Hi all,

Not sure if this post will be welcomed here since it’s not technical related. Basically I am looking for career advice and couldn’t find a better place

With more than 10 years in the network field (emphasis on Cisco technologies) I have always been working in mixed environment implementation/testing/design/support with design being where I am less experienced. I would like know to look for pure design/architect roles but I have some interrogations;

• I have some difficulties to understand the difference between design and architect roles, can someone share some tough about it?
  • I really like hands on work, is there a risk that I lose it if I move to a pure design/architect role? In fact I am really afraid to get bored with doing too much documentation compared to hands on work.
  • I am currently studying for the CCDA (as well as learning more security stuff) but would like to open myself to other technologies/vendors. What’s other studying path would you advice ?
  • What resource can I use to learn the design/architect job?
  • Apart of cisco website what website/blogs are using to keep on top of new technologies and learn new stuffs? I am currently following on PaketPushers, PacketLife, Etherealmind

I hope that’s not too much questions and that some wise/experienced design/architect will be able to share some experience with me.

Regards,

Fab

2 Accepted Solutions

Accepted Solutions

Marwan ALshawi
VIP Alumni
VIP Alumni

hi Fab

i will provide you with some answers from my opinion which might be helpful to you

1 - in big companies such as ISPs design mean doing more detailed and command level design and Architect doing high level of the concept not command level this might differ in smaller companies