Views
Helpful
Replies

Identifying CPUs in a 7000series

lni1
Level 1
Level 1

Hello,

I am relatively new to network management and therefore struggling with the following to my opinion horrible problems: I use Concord to discover my network topology. When discovering 7000 series routers, Concord discovers different CPUs in the box, example CPU-1, CPU-39, CPU-40... How can one determine what CPUs are discovered, ie. to what modules/cards... these CPUS correspond?

How can one proceed to determine what is really discovered. Is there a good reference on how to learn to interprete the OIDs and how to know what MIBs exist and how they all interrelate?

Any help is welcome. Thanks!

9 Replies 9

minie
Level 4
Level 4

Concord must have polled ENTITY-MIB to get the CPU info. You need to find out the entPhysicalIndex for each of the CPUs, and then poll the entPhysicalContainedIn to find out what the parent slot the CPU is in.

Thanks for the reply minie, but I am not able to poll the entPhysicalIndex to get the physical indexes of the different CPUs.

All I get is:

cisco.ciscoMgmt.ciscoProcessMIB.ciscoProcessMIBObjects.cpmCPU.cpmCPUTotalTable.cpmCPUTotalEntry.cpmCPUTotalPhysicalIndex.1 : INTEGER: 0

cisco.ciscoMgmt.ciscoProcessMIB.ciscoProcessMIBObjects.cpmCPU.cpmCPUTotalTable.cpmCPUTotalEntry.cpmCPUTotalPhysicalIndex.38 : INTEGER: 0

So no indexes. Therefore, I cannnot proceed to get the right entPhysicalContainedIn values to discover the slots the CPU are in.

Besides this, can you tell me where to start reading about MIBs. I wonder if there is somewhere information about how to proceed when monitoring a network (Cisco network): from a novice point of view up to expert troubleshooting. I think there must exist some kind of framework about how to become an efficient SNMP troubleshooter...or am I wrong on this.

Thank you for your help, I appreciate it a lot.