cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

Multiple Vlan addresses on adapter problem

dcooke
Level 1
Level 1

Hi all. This will no doubt be very simple for someone - but I am quite new to this!

Essentially we have a server (server1) plugged into a C2950 - port 2. It has several addresses on one physical adapter. These are in different networks eg. 192.168.6.2, 192.168.7.2 etc . How can I get it to communicate with other servers on the same switch in these networks?

For example, server 2 and 3 with addresses 192.168.6.30 and 192.168.6.31 are plugged into ports 3 & 4 with static access VLAN 30. Server 4 and 5 with addresses 192.168.7.40 and 192.168.7.41 are plugged into ports 5 & 6 with static access VLAN 40.

If port 2 is configured as a static access in VLAN 30 it can communicate with servers 3 & 4. If port x2 is configured with static access in VLAN 40 it can communicate with servers 5 & 6.

I presumed making the port a trunk:

interface FastEthernet0/2

switchport trunk native vlan 30

switchport mode trunk

switchport nonegotiate

mls qos trust cos

macro description cisco-router

spanning-tree portfast trunk

spanning-tree bpduguard enable

would enable server 1 to communicate with all the others servers - but no joy (vlan 30 is the management vlan).

Any other suggestions? Obviusly if I used physical adapters on server 1 assigned them to the appropriate static access vlans then it would be fine.

Thanks in advance

Dan

1 Accepted Solution

Accepted Solutions

tdrais
Level 7
Level 7

You are on the right track with the trunk. In a normal case you would have a router sitting on a trunk with a subinterface in each vlan with a IP on each.

Most server's now support 802.1q trunks. You can put in multiple interfaces and assign a vlan tag and ip address just like a router. I would not recommend really routing other servers traffic.

This is basically the same as your plan to use separate interfaces but it shares one cable.