cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

Network design and IP addressing

tnayak
Level 1
Level 1

Hi, I'm a newbie and have been stuck trying to find answers to a few basic questions for several weeks.  I'm not sure why I have not been able to find this information on the web - probably using the wrong search terms.  Per the attached diagram, the network consists of a router, 2 switches, an access point and multiple VLANs, but we may need to add a router in each location as we grow. My questions are:

1) Should I assign a static IP address to the ports that connect the router (g0/1 & g0/2) and switches (GigabitEthernet1/0/52) and access point (BVI1)?  If so, should I assign all of the ports to the same subnet, i.e. each of these ports has an address in the subnet 172.16.1.x?

1a) If router port g0/1 IP address is 172.16.1.1, should I use that as the address for the ip default gateway on switch1?

1b) Does the subnet automatically become the management vlan?

2) What is a good practice to use for assigning IP addresses to the VLAN sub-interfaces on the router? SO far, I have to assign ip addresses to both router ports to the radio sub-interfaces for each vlan on the access point.   I would appreciate any suggestions on how to manage this as the network grows?

ROUTER PORT G0/1 (connects to switch1)                   ROUTER PORT g0/2 (connects to switch2)     

GigabitEthernet0/1.10 IP address = 10.10.10.1            GigabitEthernet0/2.10 IP address = 10.10.10.2 

GigabitEthernet0/1.20 IP address = 10.20.20.1            GigabitEthernet0/2.10 IP address = 10.20.20.2

GigabitEthernet0/1.30 IP address = 10.30.30.1            GigabitEthernet0/2.10 IP address = 10.30.30.2

GigabitEthernet0/1.40 IP address = 10.40.40.1            GigabitEthernet0/2.10 IP address = 10.40.40.2

GigabitEthernet0/1.50 IP address = 10.50.50.1            GigabitEthernet0/2.10 IP address = 10.50.50.2