Helpful
Replies

Proper and Secure Network

Arsen Gharibyan
Level 1
Level 1

Hi everyone Im new In the CISCO i have CCNA and going after CCNA Security

Question 1

WHat Is the best place to put Firewall ? Before or after router ?

Question 2

Lets say budget is not a problem and we we have this  ISP--ASA--Router--Layer3 switch--Layer2 switch , my question is what will router du in this scenario ? everything is in 192.198.x.x network so L3 SW can to alll routings and ASA also can do NAT

Question 3

Lets say ASA comes after Router that will make more sence ,we are protecting the Internal network BUT will that be secured enough ? and What about Site to Site VPN will that work normally or there is exta complicated configuratin needs to be done on ASA to forward that traffic ?

2 Accepted Solutions

Accepted Solutions

Hi

Yes, in this case you can have the ASA directly without the router assuming that this is the only traffic and everything that goes out will have to go through the firewall only and you don't have any external links directly on the 28xx router.

Also, you need to ensure that your Cat 3750 doesn't get overutilized.

Last, to keep your network secure you will need to have server traffic going via the Firewall to ensure that only authorized connections are allowed.

In order to ensure that your network can mitigate a attack from internet, you will need to have some other devices like the IPS/IDS which will ensure that if the Users PC Vlan is infected by internet it doesn't infect other VLANs. this will need that the Firewall acts as the Intervlan routing device.

View solution in original post

I wouldn't want to commit to anything based on a few posts. It will depend on the specifics of your requirements.

However, the 5512-X and 5515-X are certainly more powerful firewalls than the 5510. And their IPS functionality doesn't require a service module. However, the IPS is still configured separately to the main firewall.