Helpful
Replies

VLAN setup on a 2950-SX

iactcrazy
Level 1
Level 1

HELP!!!

hi,

we have purchased two new 2950-sx switches. want to setup VLANs. two different ip ranges 192.168.104 and 192.168.266.. i can setup the VLAN on the switch and then assign it to an ethernet port but how do i setup an IP address/route? is there any commands. i am new to CISCO so my knowledge is basic. if anyone could help that would be great.

1 Accepted Solution

Accepted Solutions

Any l2/l3 switch would do what I think you are trying to do which is to "route" between the vlans you create, like 3550,4506 with any of the current supervisors, 3750 etc... Unfortunetly you bought one of the few strictly layer 2 switches that Cisco makes which does not do any routing function .

View solution in original post

9 Replies 9

sevans1979
Level 4
Level 4

I would try the following

Switch#vlan database

Switch(vlan)#vlan 1

then do

Switch(vlan)#vlan 2

Those two commands should create vlan's 1 and 2

Then from enable mode do the following

Switch#conf t

Switch(config)#interface vlan 1

Switch(config-if)#ip address 192.168.104.1 255.255.255.0

Switch(config-if)#interface vlan 2

Switch(config-if)#ip address 192.168.266.1 255.255.255.0

that should work for you. The ip address above might be wrong, just make sure they are in the right subnets. Just insert the correct ip address's in the above commands

Hope this helps, please rate if it does

Scott

thanks Scott,

looks like exactly what i want to do. will try tomorrow and let you know the outcome. one little thing, once i have entered the ip address do i use the exit or shutdown command? and then show vlan to see if it works right?

cheers

You can hit ctrl+z to exit the config mode. Then try it out. Because once you hit enter the changes take effect in the running-config. If all is well with the above commands then you want to copy the config. That command will be

Switch#copy run start

Then hit enter again for the destination of the save.