Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

CCNP Security Switch 300-206 (SENSS)

Hi All,

Currently I am studying for CCNP Security 300-206 (SENSS).

I came across following doubts. Though they seems to be silly & funny, I cannot resist my self without posting them here.

1 > What will happen if we give "Maximum Allowed MAC 5" and "MAC-Address Sticky" Commands together under same Interface?

2 > Does DHCP Snooping Database table stores NON-DHCP Clients(Lets say static) MAC & IP addresses ?

3 > Does DHCP Snooping and Dynamic ARP Inspection mechanisms will work under plain Layer 2 only switch ? 

4 > Can "Source Guard" stops Rough APR packets, Like Dynamic ARP Inspection ?

5 > Can Private VLAN interfaces communicate with Primary VLAN Interfaces ?

It may need little Explanation - Here the scenario :

Suppose we have Primary VLAN 100, Community VLAN 200 & Isolated VLAN 300.  And following are the interface assignments : 

Gi 0/1,Gi0/2 --> Primary VLAN 100

Gi 0/3,Gi0/4 --> Community VLAN 200

Gi 0/5,Gi0/6 --> Isolated VLAN 300

But we have Converted Only Gi0/1 into Promiscuous Port, And mapped VLAN 200 & VLAN 300.

Can Gi 0/3,Gi0/4,Gi 0/5& Gi0/6 communicate with Gi 0/2 ?

Could someone please help ?

Thanks in Advance,

Prasanna Kumar Desireddy

1 Accepted Solution

Accepted Solutions

1) Port-security allows only one MAC by default. Sticky adds the learned address to the config and "fixes" this address. If you change portsecurity to allow five addresses, then all these up to five addresses are added to the config.

2) No, If you are using this table for other functions like DAI or IPSG, then you have to define static exceptions for the systems without DHCP. Before implementing these functions I make sure that ideally all systems are using DHCP. Even printers, cameras, multifunction devices and so on. Many of these get reservations on the DHCP-server, but they should use DHCP to make functions like DAI and IPSG manageble.