cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

Cisco Configuration Professional Install and usage?

stujackson
Level 1
Level 1

HI can anyone help. I am studying for CCNA Security and want to install CCP. I have tried downloading from cisco.com but file extensions are not supported so I am lost as to how to install this and play with software. Windows based. Thanks      

3 Accepted Solutions

Accepted Solutions

Marvin Rhoads
Hall of Fame
Hall of Fame

Make sure you are downloading "cisco-config-pro-k9-pkg-2_6-en.zip". It's a zip file with the installer enclosed so just unzip it and run the executable.

The files with "exp" in the file names are the express version for installation on routers and not meant for PC installation.

View solution in original post

You're welcome. Please rate my post if it helped.

CCP is based on Internet Explorer controls under the covers. I've had success with it on Windows XP and Windows 7 with various IE versions.

Some folks have reported success in Windows 8 using the work around described here.

That may also work with Server 2012 as I suspect it is the same root cause.

11 Replies 11

Marvin Rhoads
Hall of Fame
Hall of Fame

Make sure you are downloading "cisco-config-pro-k9-pkg-2_6-en.zip". It's a zip file with the installer enclosed so just unzip it and run the executable.

The files with "exp" in the file names are the express version for installation on routers and not meant for PC installation.

Thanks for reply Marvin, I downloaded PC files, I was downloading wrong files and being pretty 1 dimensional. It has now installed but I'm getting IEC2 error "cannot start CCP. Please try restart app" - looks like port issue so I will search for clues. Cheers

You're welcome. Please rate my post if it helped.

CCP is based on Internet Explorer controls under the covers. I've had success with it on Windows XP and Windows 7 with various IE versions.