Views
Helpful
Replies

IDS and VLANS

fcurimanya
Level 1
Level 1

Hi:

I am new in this, so I need some help if you dont mind...I need to configure an IDS in a network with many VLANS. I asked some pals about that and someone told me that the only way to do this is by configuring one port monitor in the switch for each VLAN. I dont know if this is correct 'cause I remember have read in some magazine about the "mirror port" in many switches but I dont know if is the same thing and if I can use it in Catalyst Switches (I guess in some models...).

I hope you can help me 'cause this is very importnat in my design.

BTW is also important to me to know if an IDS can help me to detect and kill Code Red/Nimda attacks?

Thank you for your help

Fredy

3 Replies 3

scothrel
Level 3
Level 3

Fredy,