cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

Welcome to the General Discussion

ciscomoderator
Community Manager
Community Manager

Welcome to Cisco’s Networking Professionals Connections Virtual Private Network Forum. This conversation will provide you the opportunity to discuss General VPN issues. We encourage everyone to share their knowledge and start conversations on any issue relating to VPN.

Remember, just like in the workplace, be courteous to your fellow forum participants. Please refrain from using disparaging or obscene language or posting advertisements.

4 Replies 4

isroccanoub
Level 1
Level 1

Having some problems with a VPN. I'm new to the company and to VPNs. The current VPN layout I 'inherited' isn't working properly and I am hard pressed to find a solution. The layout is a fractional T1 coming into a cisco 1005 router. The router runs into a NIC on our proxy server which also is the server to which users VPN. Apparently, this rig was working but some changes on the proxy server brought things down several months before my arrival and the VPN has not functioned properly since. When a user tries to log in via VPN, the authentication takes place, however, all local network ties becomes severed from the proxy/VPN server and it has to be rebooted. I didn't think you could use a proxy server to support VPN services. Any info. or advice would be greatly appreciated.

I, too, am trying to figure out how to implement a scenario just like yours (including the proxy.) This much I know: some proxies can deal with VPN ( like MS Proxy 2.0) and some cannot (like Winproxy 3.0). Does the degree of difficulty for implementing VPNs go up exponentially if one has a Cisco router on the exterior, a DMZ, AND a Proxy on the interior?