Views
Helpful
Replies

SCE 2020 3.6.5

k.vlachoulis
Level 1
Level 1

Hello all

My answer is whether or not SCE can block Skype and p2p traffic.

Thanks

7 Replies 7

Shelley Bhalla
Level 3
Level 3

Short answer is yes.

Shelley.

Thanks Shelley for the quick response

Your answer is not in the same line with the tests that i performed. I have a package that blocks and redirects browsing and the default that blocks all the traffic. Skype traffic is allowed instead of that. The only way that i found is to make a rule for skype and decrease the bandwidth to 4kbps so as the VoIP to be unusable and FT slow. Instant messaging cannot be blocked.

PLease give me your experience.

Kanellos

Yes, That is why I responded with the words "short answer".

I have been troubleshooting SCE for over 5 years now. It all depends on the OS and the protocol pack you are using. And this kind of stuff quickly turns nasty (as in from troubleshooting perspective).

What OS and PP are you on?

What P2P App is not being throttled?

Skype is definatly working in the latest protocol pack as I have not seen any other customers complain but I do not mean to say it is not a new issue.

You can answer these questions but because this can lead in to a full blown troubleshooting issue, I suggest you open a TAC case.

Shelley.

I performed the tests with 3.6.5 and protocol packs 23 and 25. I also enable the tunables in order to bundle all the skype services in one, but it didn't have any success.

I haven't tested any other p2p application, but i am sure that if i do that i will find many applications that would not be blocked.

I have a TAC case and the advice is to throttle the bandwidth of this service. I believe that this is not an acceptable solution as this feature is one of the key features that SCE has and the reason that one SP would like to buy this product.

Kanellos