Views
Helpful
Replies

Best Wifi Solution

aproxitltd
Level 1
Level 1

Hi Cisco Community,

I was hoping someone could point me in the best direction on this, im a total newbie when it comes to Cisco kit and my main background is in server based config/admin and not with switching and wifi so much. This is the requirement: I have a 3 storey house which has a Cisco 887W router located on the top floor (sadly this cannot be moved location due to physical cable restrictions). I am getting a really poor wifi signal for all clients unless they are almost in the same room. After doing some checks with some wifi tools I determined that this was possibly due to lots of interference from surrounding APs (on occasions 25 APs in range average 14). The router is only 2.4Ghz so I cant change the band and I read about all the different configuration options and tried testing accordingly. Im now thinking is there a way to place other points around the building to extend coverage in those areas. I looked at repeaters such as the Linksys RE1000 but am unsure as to wether this config will work and is supported and if not what is my best option to have wireless N coverage throughout the building without breaking the bank? Any advice would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks

1 Accepted Solution

Accepted Solutions

If you have a standalone AP' it will have to be configured, meaning you will have to configure the ssid like how your AP in the router is configured, and have it in a different channel.  So if your AP in your router is in channel 1, you would use channel 6 or 11 on the other AP.  If you get one or two 1142's, then you have also the 5ghz which you would also choose different channels.  If you went with a WLC2504, then the configuration is centralized and you actually have more features, but you may not need them.  I like the WLC's and actually run one in my house with mesh AP's in areas tha I also need coverage in.  Its also my job, so that is why I have one:)

Thanks,

Scott