cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

Cisco 5508 WLC With 802.11ac APs (1702i)

nateg.iphone
Level 1
Level 1

Good Day,

I am new to the Wireless LAN controller but I feel my job is going to require we switch to them sooner rather than later. So I'm taking it upon myself to learn, that being said, I apologize for being ignorant to this platform. I do have some questions regarding the Cisco 5508 WLCs and Cisco Aironet 1702i Access Points. I know I should take a course on this stuff from Cisco, but this is a "home experiment" to help with crappy WiFi signal through my home (I do not know why it is not good but I can't get a good signal from one house to the other and I'm renting so I'm not going to troubleshoot that much) and I don't have funds for that right now.

I've tried to research but I am apparently not using the correct keywords and I'm sure this has come up before, for that I apologize for this additional thread post.

I have the opportunity to purchase a Cisco 5508 WLC with permanent licenses on it (in various quantities) but I've been reading some confusing "details" if you will... 

I know the 5508 device itself is not wireless, but I've seen some people advertise it as 802.11n so my first question is this...

Does the 5508 WLC limit bandwidth to the APs or is that based on the APs connection to the switch? I would assume it is the APs connection to the switch and I would connect utilizing the full 802.11ac bandwidth but I would like to verify before I dump a couple of hundred dollars into an experiment. The APs I am looking at are the 1702i Access Points because they are relatively cheap and they are wireless AC with a mesh option and POE. (I would like to be able to walk around my home and not lose connectivity because I've gone too far from one AP).