Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

LWAP and WLC are on different Subnets

Hi everyone,

I am pretty new in Cisco's wireless world and now i have a duty to test the deployment of WLC 5508. What i have done was deploying WLC and LWAP in the same subnet (same VLAN) and i am pretty much understand about this method. Now i am trying to deploy it with scenario the WLC and LWAP are on different subnets.

FYI i use:

1 x AIR-CT-5508 (VLAN 110)

1 x aironet 2602I (VLAN 310)

to simplfy the test, i have configured the static IP address in my LWAP using CLI and i am just using 1 SSID which will be located in the same VLAN as LWAP (VLAN310) and the user will get IP address from internal DHCP from WLC. Below is some information about this scenario:

WLC:

• IP address: 10.200.110.15/24
  • gateway   : 10.200.110.1

LWAP (because i am using CLI, i am trying to write it based on the syntax):

• capwap ap ip address              : 172.16.10.15/24
  • capwap ap controller ip address: 10.200.110.15
  • capwap ap default-gateway       : 172.16.10.1

The dynamic interface which i used to associate the SSID:

• VLAN310
  • gateway: 172.16.10.1
  • primary DHCP server: 10.200.100.15 (management interface's ip address of WLC)

Do you think i have done some misconfiguration here? Please inform me about your opinions.

One more thing about AP Manager interface. In the Configuration Guide, it said that AP Manager interface is used for L3 communication between WLC and LWAP. Because i am using WLC 5508 so i think i don't have to configure it and just using the Management interface for this L3 communcation. Am i right?

Thanks in advance.

best regards,

Yedi

1 Accepted Solution

Accepted Solutions

Welcome to the world of Cisco wireless.

A few items I would like to point out for your understanding:

Dynamic interfaces are used for wireless clients. This is where a wireless lives when they attach to your wifi.