Views
Helpful
Replies

New mobility IP assignment

Subash Sharma
Level 1
Level 1

Dear Forum Members,

Apologies if i am asking a foolish question. I have no prior experience in new mobility architecture. I am working on a design which includes the following.

3 x 3850 (acting as MA)

1 x 5508 (acting as MC) - Foreign Controller

1 x 5508 (acting as Guest Anchor)

We need to have 2 vlan's, one ofr guest access and other for staff access. i am planning the vlan & IP address assignment and i am confued with new mobility. Please correct me if my below understnading is wrong.

At 3850, i need to create 2 vlans

vlan 1 - staff ssid

vlan 2 - wifi Mgmt

At Foreign controller side (i.e MC)

vlan 1 - staff ssid

vlan 2 - wifi mgmt

At Guest anchor controller,

vlan 3 - guest ssid

vlan 2 - wifi mgmt.

Please correct me if my understnading is wrong. I guess, that the guest vlan would work the same as in centralized access in which all the vlan traffic is encrypted back to the guest anchor. so i do not need to create that vlan in switch/ MC

Also, does this Mgmt vlan needs to be L2? the guest anchor would be in DMZ and so it wouldnt be on the same vlan as foreign controller.

Please help if you can provide some inputs.There is no lab facility for me to test.

thanks nd regards,

dathan

1 Accepted Solution

Accepted Solutions

So, do i need to create SVI for guest vlan in the 3850 MA? I know that we need to have the SVI for staff vlan since the 3850 terminates the CAPWAP.

SVI needs to define on your L3 switch, not in all MA switches. MA will simply terminate capwap & handover traffic as L2 in respective vlan. All your wireless users vlans need to exist on MA switches, L3 SVI can be on a different switch.

Regarding Guest,  you can map this to a dummy vlan in your MA switches. Something similar to this

wlan Guest 20 Guest
aaa-override
band-select
client vlan <dummy_vlan_name/number>
ip dhcp required
mobility anchor <Guest Anchor_Mgmt_IP>
no security wpa