Replies

Using Aironet AP as wireless monitor

dbfokusde
Level 1
Level 1

Hello,

we have purchased a couple of new Aironet APs for our office:

AIR-AP1262N-E-K9

My objective is to use some of these as wireless monitors to scan the vicinity and to report the SSIDs and RSSI values of all detected APs.

Basically something similar to the Linux command: "iwlist wlan0 scan".

Periodically, I would like to transmit the scanning results to a central server (e.g. via SNMP) for monitoring the whole network area.

How can I achieve this?

Are there built-in commands in the IOS to do this?

Or can I use Tcl scripts to perform this task?

Any other ideas?

I have worked with Cisco routers and switches before but I am new to wireless devices. So any advice and idea is highly appreciated. Thank you in advance for your help!

Kind regards

Daniel

4 Replies 4

George Stefanick
VIP Alumni
VIP Alumni

The AP in autonomous mode cant do this. If you have a controller you can see some of this data , but you would need a WCS/NCS application to help better manage that information. You could also purchase a MSE with WIPS.

All this cost money.

How big is your install ?

__________________________________________________________________________________________
"Satisfaction does not come from knowing the solution, it comes from knowing why." - Rosalind Franklin
__________________________________________________________________________________________
‎"I'm in a serious relationship with my Wi-Fi. You could say we have a connection."

"Satisfaction does not come from knowing the solution, it comes from knowing why." - Rosalind Franklin

Thank you for the reply.

At the moment, we have approximately 20 AIR-AP1262N-E-K9 APs which will be set up to operate in autonomous mode.

As this is an official Cisco forum I understand that the use of additional products will be recommended. However, we really don't need a complex solution like the MSE/WIPS.