cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

Wireless Controller needed for VoIP over WLAN?

pbanholzer
Level 1
Level 1

Hello,

I am a German Student working on my Bachelors thesis for Wireless IP Telephony. I have some basic question: Do I need something like the WLSE Express for my environment to enable roaming between the different APs?

I have four Aironet 1200 APs but no wireless controller. (there is no money for that)

So is it possible to roam without any controller?

Thanks,

Patrick

1 Accepted Solution

Accepted Solutions

dancampb
Level 7
Level 7

Sure. You could setup WDS on the AP's and use a local radius server on one of them. With this setup you then could use CCKM and take advantage of fast secure roaming.

You will be able to roam between AP's even without WDS but with each roam you will do a full reauth.

View solution in original post

6 Replies 6

dancampb
Level 7
Level 7

Sure. You could setup WDS on the AP's and use a local radius server on one of them. With this setup you then could use CCKM and take advantage of fast secure roaming.

You will be able to roam between AP's even without WDS but with each roam you will do a full reauth.

If they are 1200 or 1230, ensure you have 12.3(8)JEA2 or later. 12.3(8) is the last train for those AP platforms though.

For roaming to occur correctly, all APs would need to be in the same native VLAN, where IAPP can be exchanged successfully.

We then recommend to have a secondary non-native VLAN for the voice SSID.

If you have a large # of APs, then WLSM was the solution there providing a "controller-like" solution where GRE is utilized.

If you are deploying the 7921 or 7925, see the following deployment guides for further info.

http://www.cisco.com/en/US/docs/voice_ip_comm/cuipph/7921g/6_0/english/deployment/guide/7921dply.pdf

http://www.cisco.com/en/US/docs/voice_ip_comm/cuipph/7925g/7_0/english/deployment/guide/7925dply.pdf

Hi, thanks for your reply.