cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

ACS 5.8 - Machine Auth. prior User Auth.

Nicola Adustini
Level 1
Level 1

Hi All,
i'm studying Cisco ACS 5.8 documentation.
The concept of "ACCESS SERVICES" is quite new for me (ACS 5.x it is very different from ACS 4.x), and there is a thing that i would like to ask you:
is there a way to manage in differents ways, with differents policies, users that are authenticate from a Domain Machine and users that are authenticate from a "Personal" Machine?
What I mean is that in this scenario a user can manually configure his Wireless Card to send domain credentials: i don't want to block it, but i want to apply for example a specific ACL on the WLC..
Can ACS "Read" both Machine and User or have I to use a combination of Certificate and PEAP?

Thanks in advance,
N

2 Replies 2

Jagdeep Gambhir
Level 10
Level 10

Hi Nicola,

As you found ACS5 is very different as compared to ACS4. ACS5 is purely based on rules that means for any specific authentication or authorization it needs to have a rule.

Rules- Set of one or more conditions, example

= User should be member of admin group,

= Request should be from device group Routers,

Result = If conditions in the Rules are satisfied it will permit access.

Check out this video to know about acs5 working

https://supportforums.cisco.com/video/12576221/understanding-acs-5x-functions-and-rule-flow

Regards,

~JG

Do rate helpful posts

Nadav
Level 7
Level 7

Hi Nicola,

ACS 5.x works in a waterfall fashion. First the shell profiles and command sets, then you should the authentication protocols, then the user database, then how you map the users to their authorization rules. Let's say you want users to authenticate in two ways: Auth A and Auth B.