Views
Helpful
Replies

ISE 1.2.1 - CLient certificate renewal and expiration

Stephen McBride
Level 1
Level 1

Hi all,

Anyone had any luck setting up and getting this functionality working? I have set up the correct authentication and authorisation flows and all works well. My major issue is that it would appear as though apple iOS devices do not allow you to update the profiles - meaning you have to delete the iOS profile which in essence means the entire renewal process is pointless.

6 Replies 6

nspasov
Cisco Employee
Cisco Employee

It is not possible with Apple devices. Take a look at BRKSEC-3697 Cisco Live session (San Fran 2014). You must manually delete the profile from any Apple devices. 

Thank you for rating helpful posts!

Stephen McBride
Level 1
Level 1

Release notes say iOS is supported, the live session says it is supported after expiration.... so what is true? As for deleting the profile how do you delete the profile which contains the certificate and then login.... sounds bogus to me or I am missing something. Also the slides say you can use NSP portal however the options to do renewal is only available on CWA.

Basically for mind the process for iOS is not functioning as intended and is essentially useless.

I am sorry I was not clear enough. iOS devices are definitely supported, however, you must manually deleting the profile. 

Thank you for rating helpful posts!

I figured as much but at what point does the user delete the profile? The profile contains the client certificate therefore if you delete it at the wrong time renewal will not occur, likewise if you delete the profile and you lose connection you are now i a point where your device is registered and possibly unable to reregister without admin intervention.