Views
Helpful
Replies

Issue on my first installment of cisco ISE

Terry Lee
Level 1
Level 1

Hi, Thanks in advance,

This is my first time of being implementing cisco ISE 1.1.4 with Vmware Esxi v5.5

I have done following processes so far

- Created NTP,DNS,AD, of course ESXI up and running and have connection between all of them, ISE is able to sync time with ntp server as well as DNS, AD etc. 

- I have created repository for installing application bundle - which is ise-appbundle-1.1.4.218.i386 as I could not find any application default.

However, while i was doing installation and it says '/opt/oracle/base/product/11.2.0/dbhome_1/bin/lsnrctl: error while loading shared libraries: libclntsh.so.11.1: cannot open shared object file: No such file or directory'. 

I already check few forums and communities and I have no problems on syncing times on dns with ntp as well as ISE itself with ntp.

I have no firewall between devices and no other network devices are interfering.

and At the end of the logs, It comes up like this

########################################################################################

ERROR : FAILED TO START DB!

Database is not available within timeout of 240 seconds.

This could be the result of incorrect network interface configuration,

or lack of resources on the appliance or VM. Please fix the issue and run the following CLI to re-prime database:

'application reset-config ise'

########################################################################################

Im just lost now... Any recommendation ?

1 Accepted Solution

Accepted Solutions

Well it's true that the CCIE Security uses ISE 1.1 as its basis. So for lab-only setup with that purpose you could go with it.

90% of things look the same and the concepts are identical from 1.1 to 1.3. Early versions were buggy though and we recommend all production users go with 1.3.