Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

Machine authorization when connecting via VPN

Hi,

is it possible to create authorization policy on ISE that uses information from machine certificate installed on client laptops?

Users are using anyconnect 4.3. They are authenticated on ASA using user certificates.

Thank you!

1 Accepted Solution

Accepted Solutions

Not at the moment. I am by no means an expert on the topic but I had some discussions with TAC and here is my understanding. EAP is a Layer 2 protocol while the remote user communicates to the ASA via layer 3. Thus, with IKEv1 this is not possible. It appears that IKEv2 utilizes EAP so I am guessing there is some encapsulation that happens behind the scenes. However, the EAP-AnyConnect protocol is not supported by ISE/ACS. 

Here is the exact reply that I got from TAC a while back and from the looks of it nothing has changed with regards to ISE supporting EAP-AnyConnect or AnyConnect supporting EAP :)

The current ASA implementation utilizes the core IKEv2 protocol but it requires the addition of many extensions including a proprietary EAP authentication method, AnyConnect EAP, which is the only authentication method supported. The AnyConnect EAP method serves as a conduit in IKEv2 to carry the new Aggregate Authentication protocol that has been developed for remote-access which streamlines and preserves all of the existing functionality for authenticating the client. This new Aggregate Authentication protocol will be used for both IKEv2 and SSL AnyConnect connections for the new client.

IKEv2 remote-access support is limited to the Cisco AnyConnect client since it uses a proprietary EAP authentication method and therefore, no 3rd party IKEv2 are supported.

Cisco ISE and Cisco ACS do not support EAP-Anyconnect.
Oddly, the IOS implementation of IKEv2 appears to support EAP-GTC, EAP-MD5, EAP-MSCHAPv2 and NOTEAP-Anyconnect.