Views
Helpful
Replies

Reset CLI admin password from CLI

riyasrasheed
Level 1
Level 1

Hi Experts,

I am quite new to ISE, I have access to ISE cli using a user account having role admin.

I tried to set username admin with our standard password, But I cannot login using, username admin and this password from the cli.

I see it is required to boot from iso to set the admin password. Does it required even to reset the ''admin'' username even after i can access the cli.

Appreciate your response on this.

Thanks

rYs

1 Accepted Solution

Accepted Solutions

Naresh Ginjupalli
Cisco Employee
Cisco Employee

Hi riyasrasheed,

I tested this on my ISE 1.3 version and it worked well. My understanding of the issue is , you were not able to change the password of default Admin user by logging into CLI with another user who had admin role.

I tested this on my ISE 1.3 version and it worked well for me. With the ISO image you can only change the password of  admin users but you cannot change the usernames.

Thanks,

Naresh

View solution in original post

8 Replies 8

Naresh Ginjupalli
Cisco Employee
Cisco Employee

Hi riyasrasheed,

I tested this on my ISE 1.3 version and it worked well. My understanding of the issue is , you were not able to change the password of default Admin user by logging into CLI with another user who had admin role.

I tested this on my ISE 1.3 version and it worked well for me. With the ISO image you can only change the password of  admin users but you cannot change the usernames.

Thanks,

Naresh

riyasrasheed
Level 1
Level 1

Hi Naresh,

Yes, I have username which has admin role, So i can login using that username to the box.

I also can create username admin and password, but while I tried to login using admin and password, I cannot.

Also see the admin password is showing as plain text, even after I gave the hash command while creating the username.

Now I don't have a username admin, So I am trying to create one, but its not working.