Views
Helpful
Replies

How to prioritize RTP Packets for VOIP Audio on RV180

Keith7RWA
Level 1
Level 1

Hi There,

I'm a relative newbie to more advanced networking but have managed to get our small office IP PBX running over a SIP Trunk. The only real problem we are having is choppy outgoing audio when there is other heavy outgoing traffic on the network.

My understanding is that I need to set some QoS parameters, which I have played with but it didn't seem to help much. I mostly dealt with allocating bandwidth. I now think I need to somehow prioritize the outgoing RTP packets from our PBX (which runs on a PC on our LAN) to help avoid the choppy audio. My research shows this can maybe be done with something called DSCP 46 and my router does support that -- I'm just a little confused on how to exactly set the configuration.

Our router is a Cisco rv180w. I'm thinking it should be pretty straightforward, but any guidance would be appreciated (and feel free to let me know if I'm barking up the entirely wrong tree, too!)

Thanks so much.

4 Replies 4

Tom Watts
VIP Alumni
VIP Alumni

Hi Keith, generally, every device will attach it's DSCP value when transmitting a packet. This is contained within the actual packet. Based off the packet, a value is assigned to it. VOIP is usually a value of 46.  These is layer 2 CoS (class of service queue) that can map to layer 3 DSCP tags (0-63).

The only thing that should be needed is to map the CoS to DSCP.

STEP 1 Choose QoS > CoS Settings > Cos Settings.

STEP 2 In the CoS to Queue field, check Enable.

STEP 3 For each CoS priority level in the CoS to Traffic Forwarding Queue Mapping

Table, choose a priority value from the Traffic Forwarding Queue drop-down

menu.

-Tom
Please rate helpful posts

-Tom Please mark answered for helpful posts http://blogs.cisco.com/smallbusiness/