cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

8 WAN bonding - is it possible by cisco?

cisco96050
Level 1
Level 1

Hi there, I'm a newbie to cisco, and I'm wondering if somebody can help me choose the right cisco router solution for my current situation:

8 internet links via WiMAX CPEs, terminated with Fast Ethernet ports. We used to depoly some loadbalancing appliances to accoplish this taskm but here we are now trying to get this solutioin from CISCO if possible. So many thanks in advance for your help.

1 Accepted Solution

Accepted Solutions

Avoid per-packet, it just causes trouble as you noticed. Note router balances per-flow and not just per-destination.

Over time, the traffic will be statistically distributed, that is all what matters and you cannot do better than that.

View solution in original post

11 Replies 11

paolo bevilacqua
Hall of Fame
Hall of Fame

You cannot really "bond" ethernet links.

However, the router wil statistically distribute traffic over them and you should be fine anyway.

Sounds good p.bevilacqua, could you advice me with a specific configuration? Router model / Network Modules?

Would recommend a router in 2800 class, according to your budget also. It also depends what is the aggregate speed of these links.

Please remember to rate useful posts with the scrollbox below.

Ok p.bevilacqua, every WiMAX ethernet line can get 2Mbps Download/512kbps Upload speeds. Now what is the right network module that I can use for each line, and is there any network module can handle them all once?

After I spent some time in cisco and other websites, I figured out I can get this up using 2811 - 2821, and the old 3640 / 3660 with Cisco NM-2E-2W. I'm right?? thanks for your help and I will not forget to rank of course

I would use a minimum of a 1841, front-end with a 29xx switch, or a 28xx with hwic-9esw.

Avoid old routers because they are not adequate anymore.