cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

ASA 5510 Update

4point_cisco
Level 1
Level 1

I need a little help with whether an update is the best course or not.

I have an ASA 5510, ASDM v 7.1(1)52, ASA v 8.2(5). I am looking at putting our exchange onto Azure and need to setup a vpn to it. I've read that in order to set up the vpn I need to be on ASA v 8.3. I've also heard that updating from 8.2 to 8.3 can be almost catastrophic as in all of the ACL's need to be re-written to conform to the new standard (or something like that) that will come with the updated version.

Does anybody have any thoughts or suggestions on this.

I'm somewhat new to the Cisco firewall world so I'm not sure what to do.

2 Accepted Solutions

Accepted Solutions

John Blakley
VIP Alumni
VIP Alumni

I have no experience with Azure, so I'm not sure what the vpn is for. I'm assuming that you're doing this to MS? Anyway, you can configure vpns on 8.25, so you may want to find out why they want a version => 8.3. The 8.3 upgrade will tremendously increase your config. It reconfigures your nat rules. Now, you have static nats that look like:

static (inside,outside) 1.1.1.1 192.168.1.1 netmask 255.255.255.255

After 8.3, you'll have an object for every address that you have on top of a nat rule:

object obj_1.1.1.1

host 1.1.1.1

object obj_192.168.1.1

host 192.168.1.1

nat (inside,outside) static 1.1.1.1

The above is a quick example. The conversion utility will make many changes to your nat static and dynamic rules. This is a major upgrade, and Cisco even recommended to me to have a 3-hour outage window for troubleshooting purposes. Another note, as you can see above it's going to tremendously increase the amount of lines that you have in your config. You may also be surprised to find out that (well, in my case at least) there was a lot of redundancy in the converted config. I swear I had 50 "obj_192.168.1.0" objects. They were configured like:

obj_192.168.1.0

obj_192.168.1.0_1

obj_192.168.1.0_2

etc.