cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

Bandwidth throttling via QoS

Ricky S
Level 3
Level 3

Hi folks, I am fairly new to the world of QoS. Although I have a basic understanding of what it is, I don't have any real experience in implementing it in production network. We have a new requirement between two of our major offices located in Chicago and Toronto where they will be replicating large amount of data between each other on a nightly basis. We checked with the vendor of the replication software/server and there is no way to throttle the bandwidth usage in software. They said this is usually done via QoS.

I'm wondering if anyone can shine some light as to how I can configure my routers in both offices to throttle the bandwidth usage for traffic between these two specific servers. Would I need to use ACLs to do the QoS?

23 Replies 23

Hello, the differences between both policing and shaping are here: http://www.cisco.com/en/US/tech/tk543/tk545/technologies_tech_note09186a00800a3a25.shtml

Class based shaping:

match access-group name ACL_TEST
!
!
policy-map TEST
class TEST
Shape average 3000000
Shape peak 4000000
!
ip access-list extended ACL_TEST
permit ip any any
!
interface Tunnel0
service-policy output TEST

The above example shows to shape traffic to ensure 3000000 kbps with a max of 4000000kbps limit and usable if the bandwidth is available.

If you want to take the option of specifying the percentage of the bandwidth to be used instead of having the shape command you can do:

policy-map TEST
class TEST
Bandwidth percent 40
Shape peak 4000000

Ensure a bandwidth of 40% but allowing throughput of 4000000 Kbps only if enough bandwidth is available

So you could take these options and applying to outbound on the tunnel interface. Although by the sounds of it, the inbound policing sounds like its working.

Obviously class the traffic as close as possible with your ACLs, unlike my 'catch anything' :-)