cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

BGP ECMP with different BGP next-hop iBGP distances.

Devrim.Celik
Level 1
Level 1

Hello,

I am currently looking into BGP multipath. Once enabled, the way I understand it, router advertisements to the same prefix are candidates for BGP multipath. For load-balancing to occur, the weight, MED, local pref, AS_PATH, and iBGP distance to the BGP next-hop have to be identical. Is it possible to disable the check for identical distance to the BGP next-hop?
I found out that it is possible to do so with unequal-cost multipath (via BGP Bandwidth Link), but I'd like to have and equal distribution of traffic.

Thank you in advance and apologies for any wrong assumptions I make. I am quite new to this

8 Replies 8

balaji.bandi
Hall of Fame
Hall of Fame

Do you have control over other side ? same ISP or different ISP ?

Check some examples:

https://www.cisco.com/c/en/us/support/docs/ip/border-gateway-protocol-bgp/13762-40.html

BB

***** Rate All Helpful Responses *****

How to Ask The Cisco Community for Help

Yes, I do. In which way does that make a difference?
Thanks for the resource! I'll have a look at it.

Try 

Bgp bestpath igp-metric ignore,

See result BUT still bgp select one path.

You need multi-path ibgp to make bgp use both path.

Thank you, that will be very useful.
I do understand right, that this will also influence the normal BGP decision process, right? There is no way of only influencing the multipath decision process I guess.

Bgp w/o multipath ibgp

Bgp select best path send it to other bgp peer 

Bgp use this best path in routing table

Bgp w multipath ibgp

Bgp select best path send it to other bgp peer 

Bgp use both identical path in routing table,

Here you need to ignore igp-metric