Views
Helpful
Replies

BGP Primary, Secondary and Tertiary Route Fail over

spreston2007
Level 1
Level 1

Hey Guys,

I’m new to bgp SO I have a couple of question on a fail over scenario. I will include a link on the bottom of the topology of the network.  First of I got rid of the stacked switch and I made an iBGP connection between the two and isp 1 and isp 2 and have the asa in active/standy mode as I want isp1 to be primary and isp2 to be secondary. I have that part figured out. My question is how do I get the traffic to route to the Tertiary location if we have an outage on both isp network communication? Keep in mind this is a 24/7 operation. Just some ideas to get me rolling I’m lost where to start with this.  If you need me to be more elaborate I can do so! Let me know!

Thanks in advance!

5 Replies 5

John Blakley
VIP Alumni
VIP Alumni

Sean,

For outbound traffic towards the ISP, you can set your weight or local pref to prefer routes. For example, on Routers 1, 2, and 3, you could set local pref to 130, 120, and 110. The higher local pref is preferred, and it's carried throughout your routing domain for all of the other routers to know about (ibgp only).

You'd create a route map on all 3 routers and then apply that to your neighbor inbound:

ip prefix-list PreferRouter1ISP permit 0.0.0.0/0 le 32

route-map PreferRouter1ISP permit 10

match ip address prefix PreferRouter1ISP

set local-pref 130

route-map PreferRouter1ISP permit 20

router bgp 100

neighbor route-map PreferRouter1ISP in

This would set all routes that are received from the ISP to local pref of 130. Any routes learned from your ibgp neighbors will not be preferred.

You would configure this on all of your other routers, but for their respective neighbors.

HTH,
John

*** Please rate all useful posts ***

HTH, John *** Please rate all useful posts ***

John,

This is great! thanks for the help on this. I will put this to work on the test env. And do some testing!

Again thanks!

sean