cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

BGP world routes with one 2951 and two fiber connections from one provider

Thomas Ossman
Level 1
Level 1

I work for a small ISP that has two fiber connections from Level3, both fibers plug into a single Cisco 2951.  The two fibers are both limited to 500 Mbps, currently we are set up to use just one fiber at a time.  Our owner would like to change that by having Level3 provide us with BGP world routes so we can leave both fiber interfaces up and let BGP determine which line to use.  I have no BGP experience so I am a little lost at the moment on how to do all of this but for the moment I am worried about whether or not one 2951 would be able to handle this.  From what I have read already with a Gig of memory the router should be able to handle the routes in it's table.  I have two Gigs in this router just for good measure.  What I am unclear about is whether or not the router's processor will be able to handle this setup.  Any information as to whether or not it can would be greatly appreciated.

9 Replies 9

Richard Burts
Hall of Fame
Hall of Fame

With two connections, both of them to Level3, I do not see a lot of benefit in running BGP and accepting full Internet routes. With two providers it does make sense. But if you run BGP on both connections what will Level3 advertise differently on one link as compared to the other? I think you would be much better suited to configure dual default routes and let IOS manage load sharing to be able to use both connections.

HTH

Rick

HTH

Rick