Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

Block specific subnet in core switch

Hi all,

My network has subnets for each building; 10.100.x.x/16 - 10.107.x.x/16. Beyond that, we have subnets specific to routers, servers, switches, printers, and clients (x.x.10.x, x.x.20.x, etc.).

My printers are on x.x.30.x, and because of the subnet mask setting on clients (255.255.0.0) anyone can send a print job from one building to another. One of my buildings has been getting reams of print jobs clearly printed from another building and I'd like to block it on our core WAN switch.

Each building is connected via fiber to our core, a Catalyst 3750G. 

I'm new to the Cisco experience so I'm wondering how I can block traffic only in my x.x.30.x subnet from passing through my core switch. All traffic in other subnets must continue to be allowed.

Any help is appreciated. Thanks in advance!

2 Accepted Solutions

Accepted Solutions

Okay, it's making more sense now.

One last question.

The clients use a class B subnet mask. Do the printers also use a class B subnet mask. So when a client talks to a printer in the same building does the traffic stay local to the building rather than go via the 3750 ie.

clients looks up printer IP and sees it is on the same IP subnet (because it has a class B subnet mask). The client sends the traffic to the printer. If the printer also has a class B subnet mask it sends traffic back to client. But if the printer has a /24 subnet mask it has to send it to the SVI on the 3750 which then forwards it to the client.

So, assuming a class B subnet mask, local printer traffic never gets to the SVI, only printer traffic destined for other buildings. In which case you can simply apply an acl inbound on the SVI per building denying any traffic destined for the remote printer subnets x.x.30.x and then obviously permitting everything else.

It really comes down to whether the printers are using a class B subnet mask as well.