Views
Helpful
Replies

Cisco 1600 or 2611 Router

KevinPhillips88
Level 1
Level 1

Hello,

I am new to using Cisco routers for accessing the internet. I have the following senario, I have a Virgin media super hub set in modem mode connected to the router  Ethernet interface 0/0, I my computer will be connected to interface Ethernet 0/1, I would like some advise on how to configure my router so I am able to access the internet, and also which router would be the best to use. I have one Cisco 1600, and one 2611.

Any advise would be greatly appriecated.

Kind Regards

Kevin

8 Replies 8

Hi,

You may configure as below if you have only one pc connected

conf t# interface Ethernet 0/1

ip address 192.168.1.1 255.255.255.252

no shut

end

interface ethernet 0/0

ip address (isp ip address) 255.255.255.252 

no sh

end

asign ip to your pc as 192.168.1.2 with mask 255.255.255.252  and default gateway as 192.168.1.1

now again go to conf mode type

ip route 0.0.0.0 0.0.0.0 (isp ip address)

please exclude brackets i.e.., ()

If you have no other requirements other than this go with the cheapest one,

if your requirement is going to be more in the future opt for a best router and you may get the information at your vendor or you may contact here Product Management Contact: ask-stg-ios-pm@cisco.com

http://www.cisco.com/en/US/products/hw/routers/ps380/prod_bulletin09186a00801abfda.html

http://www.cisco.com/en/US/products/sw/iosswrel/ps5207/products_feature_guides_list.html

Please dont forget to rate helpful posts

Regards
Thanveer
"Everybody is genius. But if you judge a fish by its ability to climb a tree, it will live its whole life believing that it is a stupid."

Thank you Thanveer,

I will try this tonight and let you know how I get on.

Kind Regards

Kevin

Hi Kevin,

Any luck??

Regards
Thanveer
"Everybody is genius. But if you judge a fish by its ability to climb a tree, it will live its whole life believing that it is a stupid."

Hello Thanveer,